Brothers and Frenemies--Reviews


All reviews copied directly from Amazon

Awsome, March 29, 2017
By juanae simmons
Verified Purchase
This review is from: Brothers And Frenemies (Kindle Edition)
I loved every page of it!!! The characters are so relatable and relevant. I'm waiting to see if there's going to be a part 2........

Expect the unexpected, November 15, 2016
By Kindle Customer
Verified Purchase
This review is from: Brothers And Frenemies (Kindle Edition)

I started off really slowly, then bang you had my attention. I couldn't put it down and wanted to read when I shouldn't. I was anxious to find out what happened next. Overall this was a great read and I'm looking forward to the next one.

I applaud Mr. Alexander for his reality brought to ..., September 20, 2016
By Amazon Customer
Verified Purchase
This review is from: Brothers And Frenemies (Kindle Edition)
I applaud Mr. Alexander for his reality brought to life in this featured book. I was left wanting to know more!! Sebastian is a definite firecracker that can't be tamed!!! Do I hear a sequel in the future? I definitely hope so!!! This is a definite five star read!!!

This should be on everyone's 'to be read' list., September 11, 2016
By  Susan Johnson
This review is from: Brothers And Frenemies (Kindle Edition)
To say I'm a fan of this author is an understatement. If you haven't discovered him yet I highly recommend you check him out. I love how he tells a story in it's truest form. Sometimes it's ugly and not always hearts and flowers and you might not even get an HEA (but sometimes you do) but it's real and raw and challenges how you see people.
The negative: There were a lot of characters and I found it hard to keep track. Having said that, some people love the extra dimension and perspective more characters bring so this is only a personal negative and doesn't reflect the writer at all.
The positive: Everything else. It's a coming of age novel but it's so much more. It tells of developing and changing relationships and digs deep into how we perceive people and make judgments. Even those close to us.
Easily 5 stars.



Unique Story of Changing Relationships Over Time, September 10, 2016
By Amazon Customer
Verified Purchase
This review is from: Brothers And Frenemies (Kindle Edition)
I very much enjoyed this coming of age story about a bullied kid and the changing relationships he has with his bullies. The conversations between them rang true to what you'd expect from a group of boys and each of their stories was worth reading. It's also a rarity to find observations of gay relationships that aren't treated as "othering", but just a normal way of life. Samuel Alexander has done that and it is an achievement of which he should be proud.

I would have enjoyed a tighter focus on the stories of these frenemies, with less of the parents involved. I also do not understand how we are to have empathy for a killer mob boss, but nonetheless that is one of the reader's tasks.

Even with its cons, this is a truly unique read that I believe many will enjoy.
Not like anything I've ever read before, September 10, 2016
By Alicia Kline

Verified Purchase
This review is from: Brothers And Frenemies (Kindle Edition)
I received a copy of this book directly from the author in exchange for my honest review. I, unbeknownst to him, also preordered this before I started to read it. I want into this book completely blind, telling him I'd read it without knowing the genre or the title. I still haven't even read the blurb, or paid any attention to the finished cover art. I don't find those things important.

This is not the type of book that I would usually seek out. It's certainly not for everyone: there's plenty of violence, vulgarity and sexuality. But at its core, this may best be described as a coming of age novel.

I love reading things that are different. I usually don't enjoy the trendy stuff as much as everyone thinks I'm supposed to, so I was instantly relieved when from the very first page, I could tell this wasn't a mainstream read. It opens in a very dark, very brutal way and doesn't let up much from there. But rest assured, it's not all doom and gloom. There's actually a couple of pop culture references that made me laugh out loud.

There are many, many characters in this book. I don't have anything in common with any of them, and maybe that's why I enjoyed it so much. It's like being a fly on the wall of a completely different way of life. A place where the lines between good and evil and love and hatred are blurred at best.

I dislike assigning star ratings to books, because that seems so subjective. A five star tends to sound fake, as if it's the best book that was ever written, and this wasn't. I'm not sure that there any book without faults, this one included. But this is more than a four star in my opinion, so I had to give it what it deserved.

As I mentioned, this is a book with a lot of characters, and when they all got together, sometimes it was difficult to tell who was talking when. Sometimes I could figure it out through context, and other times I'm not certain that I ever knew.

This is written in a style that is informal, almost stream of consciousness like, and that tone helps to set the stage. It's not polished or poetic, but there is a beauty to this all on its own. It does take some getting used to, and could be distracting to some.

I became invested in these characters, some more than others, and as I progressed farther and farther, I both wanted to finish to find out happened next, and wished it would never end. This is the kind of book that you stay up until two in the morning to complete. The kind that leaves you wanting more when it's over, staying with you long after it's done.



Expect the unexpected, November 15, 2016
By
Kindle Customer

Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brothers And Frenemies (Kindle Edition)
I started off really slowly, then bang you had my attention. I couldn't put it down and wanted to read when I shouldn't. I was anxious to find out what happened next. Overall this was a great read and I'm looking forward to the next one.
5.0 out of 5 starsAwsome
Byjuanae simmonson March 29, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

I loved every page of it!!! The characters are so relatable and relevant. I'm waiting to see if there's going to be a part 2........

No comments:

Post a Comment